21 mushers draw bibs for the K300 Sled Dog Race

by Angela Denning-Barnes on January 18, 2013

Mike Williams Sr. of Akiak.

The K300 Sled Dog Race starts at 6:30 p.m. on the Kuskokwim River in front of Bethel. The field of racers has dropped from 28 to 21, but those who are left are still highly competitive, including six past champions. Thursday night, mushers chose their starting numbers, which are also their bib numbers.

#1 Ken Anderson, Fairbanks
#2 Josh Cadzow, Fort Yukon
#3 Ramey Smyth, Willow—won in 1995
#4 Rohn Buser, Big Lake—defending champion
#5 Isaac Underwood, Aniak
#6 Louie Ambrose, St. Michael’s
#7 Mike Williams Jr., Akiak
#8 Mike Williams Sr., Akiak
#9 Jeff King, Denali Park—won the race 8 times
#10 Cim Smyth, Big Lake
#11 Joar Leifseth Ulsom, Norway
#12 Ray Redington Jr., Wasilla
#13 John Baker, Kotzebue—won in 2010
#14 Katherine Keith, Kotzebue
#15 Mikhail Telpin, Russia
#16 Richie Diehl, Aniak
#17 Kristy Berington, Kasilof
#18 Pete Kaiser, Bethel
#19 Tony Browning, Nenana
#20 Martin Buser, Big Lake—won the race twice
#21 Paul Gebhardt, Kasilof—won in 2011

Seven teams that were signed up for the K300 have withdrawn. They include:
Joe Garnie
Aily Zirkle
Allen Moore
Lance Mackey
Scott Smith
Jimmy Hurley
Rudy Demoski–dropped down to the Bogus Creek 150

Icy weather in the Interior was a factor for some of them who could not safely drive their team to the airport.

Previous post:

Next post: