AVCP’s Hunter Fisher Award honors 25 Kuskokwim fisherman

by Sophie Evan on October 11, 2013

fisherman Lupie speaks about citation in Napaskiak, photo by S. Evan

fisherman Lupie speaks about citation in Napaskiak, photo by S. Evan

The AVCP convention ended on a positive note, by honoring people with well-deserved recognition for thier work. The AVCP Presidential Awards are a way to acknowledge ordinary people for their extra ordinary lives.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

There are twelve (12) categories of awards that AVCP solicits from the Y/K region. Village governments and corporations send in nominees from their community to be considered. The AVCP board of directors and administration make the final selections. This year, the twenty five (25) salmon fishermen and their attorney made the cut.

The 25 fishermen who defied the State of Alaska’s fishing closure were honored as the 2013 Hunter and Fisherman of the year. Their pro bono attorney, James Davis, was also recognized with the Tugkar Award. The Tugkar award is in memory of the late AVCP chief Edward Hoffman.

The Culture Bearer Award went to Kongiganak elder Tommy Phillip Senior. Paula Ayunerak of Alakanuk won in the Health category. AVCP chief Paul John and his wife were honored as Parents of the Year, they are from Nunakauyak, or Toksook Bay.

Theresa Amik of Kipnuk was recognized in the healing hands category, and the Peter Pavilla Store in Tuntutuliak won the small business award.

The education award went to Harley Sundown of Scammon Bay, Gene Peltola Senior was recognized for the Public Service Award, Alvin Brown was recognized for his law enforcement service.

Tyrel and Erik Gusty of Stony River won the youth leadership award and Esther Green won Elder of the Year.

The AVCP Presidential Award winners’ names will be forwarded to AFN to compete with the rest of the State in the same categories.

Previous post:

Next post: