King crowned in his 9th K300 win

by Mark Arehart on January 21, 2013

With nine wins, Jeff King is the most decorated K300 champion in the history of the race.

Jeff King already had more than twice as many K300 wins as anyone else. But, it would seem the 56-year-old musher from Denali Park wasn’t yet satisfied. He crossed the finish line, sealing his record ninth win.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Video: King and others at finish line.

King rode a lead of over an hour out of the Akiachak checkpoint to seal the victory at 11 o’clock Sunday morning, at a pace of 41 hrs and 10 seconds. His last win was in 2006.








“I’m not sure why, but I know my way around the course and seem to have good aptitude for making a race with these rules and distance,” King said.

He says he thinks because he can stay truly focused for 40 hours, he has been successful here. King takes home the newly increased top prize of $22,000.

King described the trail as windy and snowy, but said his team was still powerful–too powerful even, he said he broke his brake from riding it so hard. “It’s just trashed. I haven’t had a brake for 150 miles because it just denigrated.”

Tony Browning finished second, racing dogs out of Aaron Burmeister’s kennel, at 12:05 p.m.

Bethel’s own Pete Kaiser finished third, tying his best race finish. He won his second “Best in the West” award. He finished at 12:31 p.m.

2011 K300 winner Paul Gebhardt finished fourth 12:44 p.m.

Cim Smyth finished fifth at 12:52 p.m.

Reigning K300 champ Rohn Buser took sixth at 12:54 p.m.

K300 rookie Joar Leifseth Ulson took seventh at 12:55 p.m. He may have finished ahead of seventh if he had not taken the wrong trail coming back between Kalskag and Tuluksak.

In eight place, Joshua Cadzow finished at 1:57 p.m.

Ramey Smyth finished ninth at 2:06 p.m.

Stay tuned to KYUK for more updates.

Previous post:

Next post: