TWC announces 10th annual Yukegtaaraat honorees

by Shore on March 30, 2011

The pool of nominees for this esteemed honor included 15 inspiring individuals this year. Ultimately, only three were selected: Neva Rivers an elder from Hooper Bay; Esther Green an elder from Bethel; and Peter Atchak of Bethel and President of the Bethel Search and Rescue.

The Tundra Womens Coaltion bestows the Yukegtaaraat award each year on people from the Y-K Delta they feel live a commitment to the values of peace, equality and community.

A banquet honoring Rivers, Green and Atchak will be held on April 30th at the Cultural Center in Bethel.

Previous post:

Next post: