Williams Jr. earns Sportsmanship Award, Diehl is Most Improved

by Ben Matheson on March 17, 2014

Mike Williams Junior received the prestigious Iditarod sportsmanship award at the banquet in Nome. He was chosen by his fellow mushers. He helped an injured Aaron Burmeister on the trail to Nikolai. Junior received a check for $1,049.00 and a plaque. Aniak’s Richie Diehl received the Horizon Lines Most Improved Musher Award based on his 14th place finish, moving up 22 spots from his rookie year finish of 36th place. He takes home an engraved trophy plus $2,000.00.

Martin Buser won the Leonhard Seppala Humanitarian Award for outstanding dog care. Rookie of the year was Nathan Schroeder. Jessie Royer and Ray Redington Jr. took the prize for fastest time from Safety to Nome. Mushers Choice Award went to Aaron Burmeister. The Golden Clipboard award for outstanding checkpoint went to Galena. Dallas Seavey’s lead dog Beatle was awarded the Golden Harness.

Previous post:

Next post: