Y-K Delta districts favor Democrats in election

by Angela Denning-Barnes on November 7, 2012

Although President Obama won re-election, Alaskan voters favored Republican Mitt Romney. However, the Y-K Delta’s three house districts followed the national trend and supported Obama as well as their regional democratic candidates. In District 36, 75% of voters favored Obama, in District 37, about 65% of voters favored Obama, and in District 38, 68% of voters favored the President.

The Democratic candidates running for the house seats in the region won across the board.

In House District 36, Democrat Bryce Edgmon of Dillingham edged out Republican Carl Morgan Jr. of Aniak with 55% of the vote. In House District 37, Democrat Bob Herron ran unopposed. In House District 38, votes went three ways, but Fairbanks Democrat David Guttenburg came away with 47% of the vote. Republican Alan Dick of Stony River received 39% of the vote and Non-partisan candidate, Dorothy Shockley took 14%.

Senate Seat S went to long-time Democrat Senator Lyman Hoffman who ran unopposed.

One election where Y-Delta voters supported a Republican was in the race for Congress. It was a landslide victory for long-time Congressman Don Young both statewide and regionally. He took in about 65% of the statewide vote over his Democratic challenger, Sharon Cissna who received 28%. The Y-K Delta’s three house districts supported Young by an average of 70%.

As for voter turnout regionally, the three house districts averaged about 40%, which is less than the state’s 44% overall turnout. House District 36 had a 39% voter turnout, District 37 had a 34% turnout and District 38 had a 46% voter turnout. In Bethel, the turnout averaged less than most villages in the region at 34%.

The highest voter turnout in the Y-K Delta was in Upper Kalskag with over 57% turnout.

A bonding proposition for transportation projects across the state won wide support with 57% of voters voting “Yes”. Regionally, it also had strong support. The package equals about $453.5 million in projects, 36 in total. There are 5 projects in the Y-K Delta:

$ 4 million for dredging the Bethel Small Boat Harbor
$ 3 million for improving the Emmonak Port
$ 1 million for the Hooper Bay boat harbor
$ 3.1 million for extending the Platinum airport
$ 4.1 million for the Newtok Traditional Council for the Mertarvik Evacuation.

As for the ballot measure regarding a Constitutional Convention, Alaskans overwhelmingly said “NO” with 68% of the vote. In the region, the vote was a lot closer:

In District 36, 53% of voters said “No” to a convention. In District 37, it was almost 50-50 with just five more voters casting “No” ballots than “Yes” ballots. In District 38, the difference was greater, with 64% of the voters casting “No” votes.

Previous post:

Next post: